Carpet & Flooring: Your Complete Guide!

TESTIMONIALS


MOST TRUSTED SOURCE IN SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA FOR 3 DECADES
Operated by retired installer, repair technician.
Over 70,000 satisfied customers and you will be too. You probably know someone who is a satisfied customer of Amigo's.
 
 
The Original AMIGO'S CARPET & FLOORING WAREHOUSE
13406 Saticoy Street (just 2 blocks east of Woodman)
North Hollywood, Ca 91605
818-901-7411
 

DEAR CUSTOMERS, I do appreciate take every letter and review seriously, especially any that are negative. At the end are some of the letters I received in the mail from a few customers. The first 30 or so of these I took from Yelp. Are there bad reviews? Of coarse but I chose not to include them here because they were mostly unfair. There was a great review from an employee at the time but I excluded it from this listing as I thought it was unfair even though I agreed with his review. There were a few that did have a good point to improve which we did. We are always looking to our customers to tell us how we can improve. WE DO LISTEN. Then there was a few reviews that were obviously from competitors and others from abusive customers. One who wrote a bad review AFTER we asked them to leave our store. We are humans who truly love what we do and treat EVERYONE with respect but I have a ZERO tolerance for anyone who is abusive in my store. Thank you.

Mike, Amigo's

 

These are reviews I took from Yelp:

Crystal Leigh, Studio City, Ca.  

7/14/2015
 
I do not understand how anyone could rate this place less than 5 stars!! We just got a rug for $844 that was quoted 5k at other places !! If you need a very large or odd size rug they can cut it for you and they have so much to choose from Not to mention the service is impeccable and the turn around time is less than a week!!  They also have LARGE pre cut remnants for $300-400. I will never go to a regular rug store again. 
 
Robert P., Burbank, Ca.
7/11/2015
Mike and Maureen are fantastic!  I walked in and Mike greeted me with a warm smile.  The hospitality was a differentiated welcome.


The beautiful frisee carpet that we were shown was retail 1400 and we got it for 560!

Then we were equally pleased to meet their installer Robert.  Robert is a joy, a hard worker and did an excellent job of installing our carpet.

Look - when you read reviews, ANYONE can say something negative and most people who write are the ones that are not satisfied.  But to take the time to write something positive is not always top of mind as we take it for granted to be encouragers and grateful in a world that EXPECTS to be served.  Well, we were served wonderfully and I suggest that anyone in business is going to make mistakes - has bad days, etc. 

But, my experience of Amigos was a 12 out of 10 and I have lived around the world and done quite a bit of remodeling and they stack up with the best of the best in service, hospitality, performance and follow through!

THANKS AMIGOS!

 

 

Jacob W. Fullerton, Ca.

5/19/2015

I had pleasant experence with Amigo's Carpet and Flooring. They were quick to return calls. Finished product was A grade.

 

 

Kelly G. Thousand Oaks, Ca.

6/11/2014

Shhhhhh....Best kept secret.  It's a big shack-like warehouse filled with an endless variety of affordable, quality carpet ready to go.  Mike is great! He helped us choose the best carpet for our situation.  He helped schedule delivery and installation asap. I recommend this place to everyone!

 

Sherry W.

4/16/2014

We visited the warehouse in the past weekend and the owner, Mike was our favorite sales person that we have encountered during our entire carpet hunting process. They had a lot of remnant selections, and the price is competitive with other remnant warehouse as well. I was not sure which product to get, but eventually got a better quality carpet for our master and another pattern carpet for the rest of the house. If you are looking for a good deal, definitely check this place out :)

 

Evelyn V. Woodland Hills, Ca.

11/16/2013

Mike,
The floors look beautiful!  Thanks for the referral to Robert and Will at  Carpetman.  They did everything they said they would and more. I am a super satisfied customer.

 

 

Sharon G. Los Angeles, Ca.

9/30/2013

When I decided to put new carpet in my upstairs bedrooms, I shopped around.  I called several places and received many higher prices for less square footage.   Mike and his lovely wife at Amigos Carpet in North Hollywood were kind and understanding.  Mike showed me several samples.  He kept showing me samples until he found what I was looking for.  He hung in there with me for weeks deciding.  Once I decided, he installed it the very next day!  The carpet is better than what I expected.  Color is rich and looks beautiful on my stairs and bedrooms.  We even had enough left over to put in my walk in closet off the bathroom.  
If you are looking to put in new flooring look no further.  Call Mike at Amigos he will hook you up!  I really mean it.  He even called me the next day to see how everything went with the installation.  His installation guys rock as well!

Very happy customer,

Sharon

 

India I. Studio City, Ca.

8/26/2013

Mike at Amigos is the best! A tenant moved out and we needed some affordable, but durable, carpet for two small rooms right away. He had a terrific selection, was super helpful and took the time to explain the pros and cons of different types of carpeting. He recommended a carpet installer, Robert Templeton, "The Carpet Man," who responded promptly, was very professional, showed up on time and did a speedy and clean job of installing the carpet. If you need carpeting, go to Amigos before you go anywhere.

 

Ron V. Ventura, Ca.

7/18/2013

Had a great experience with Amigo's. Mike was an excellent salesmen he helped us pick out the right carpet for our various rooms, and at a great price. His carpet installer Robert was also very professional and did a wonderful job!

The laminate flooring selection was great too and looks wonderful, once we installed it!

Would recommended to family and friends.

 

Pam B. Northridge, Ca.

7/8/2013

Our experience has been terrific. I got three estimates, and Mike's was not the lowest but when I compared honesty and reliability, there was no comparison.  I am a novice when it comes to home repairs or improvements. This experience has lifted my faith that there are honest, responsible and reliable people, who take pride in their work. Mike sent Robert Templeton, the installer over to get the correct measurements, because both of the other estimates measured incorrectly. The installation on the laminate that we chose went smoothly, and the finished product is beautiful. Mike
gave us a terrific deal, too.

This is the first review that I have written, because I want people to know that there are truly skilled people in this world.  When they finished they put everything back, even better than before, and it was clean from top to bottom. I really appreciate it when people take pride in their work. Than you

 

Rich M. North Hills, Ca.

6/17/2013

1 check-in here

Mike the owner is so accommodating!  He did a rush job for me at the last minute and gave me a great price too.  The carpet was install quick and looks beautiful.  Referring a couple of friends who need carpet.

 

Scott H. Woodland Hills, Ca.

5/5/2013

Overall a very good experience with great prices compared to retail.  Mike is very knowledgeable and provides solid guidance on the carpet for the area you are considering.  Just carefully measure your space go to see the carpet.  You have to be somewhat flexible if you are trying to carpet many rooms with the same carpet, but if the carpet or size is not in the warehouse Mike will try to get if for you.
He contacts an installer that you make arrangements with.  Installers were experienced, on time, and completed the job expertly. The installer picks up the carpet, delivers it, removes the old carpet, and installs the new.  From picking the carpet to installation was about a week, although they will work with your timing.  Definitely worth a visit.

 

 

 

Alexandra M. Tarzana, Ca.

4/2/2013

I had a wonderful experience with this store. Mike, the owner, helped me figure out the square footage I needed and then walked around with me and my fiance to show us different carpets he had available in that size. Clearly his stock changes from week to week and possibly day to day, but we found an upper mid grade carpet retail of $2900 for $900.

Mike referred us to an installer named Robert. Robert and his helper Will did a fantastic job. Every single seam is invisible, and the room and stairs are installed perfectly. They were on time and cleaned up after themselves. I really don't have a negative thing to say about this entire experience except that if you are looking at doing an entire house, they may not have a piece of carpet big enough for your needs. In our case they had enough to do 2 bathrooms, a 19x14 bedroom and 19 stairs with some carpet left over. I had priced the same area with installation at Home Depot for a lower grade carpet (.65 cents a square foot) and the total was close to $2500 with cheaper padding and installation. I spent $1400 and got beautiful carpet and perfect installation. I saved enough that we opted for 8 pound padding so the carpet is even nicer!

The installers also gave me advice on my wood flooring and how to scotchguard the carpet as well as offered to come back and fix any repairs I may need in the future as they also gave me an extra piece should I ever need it. They also took away my old carpet and padding included for no extra charge though you can do it yourself and save a little bit of money if you want.

Mike's Amigo's carpet is a warehouse in North Hollywood - it's not a beautiful showroom, but the carpet and installation is as good as any place I have been to. In addition you can go to discount-carpet-warehous… to see a video by Alan Mendleson - consumer reporter and get tips on how to measure your carpet area and more.

They are also known as discount carpet warehouse and eco trader. Good luck!

 

Rod T. Newhall California

3/20/2013

Normally I read the Yelp reviews before I go visit someplace, but since I saw an ad in Craigslist I didn't know where exactly I was going. I called the number and the lady gave me an address in North Hollywood so I loaded up the family and headed down the 170.

Parking was a breeze and lead me to a large warehouse. Rolls and rolls of carpet, mostly standing on end filled the place up. Friendly chap named Mike came out and greeted me. Since I came prepared with room measurements I just handed it over to him. Most carpet rolls are 12-foot wide and he confirmed we needed about 28 feet. The wife and I were looking at his wide assortment of remnant carpet and narrowed it down to two. Mike gave me prices and gave me his opinion on the different qualities of each carpet. He also told me that if I wanted, I could have it installed that day, since he knew the schedule of his top-notch installer Robert.

The prices he gave me were competetive. Being the cheapskate I am, I still had to haggle and he countered with a great price. When I got home I contacted Robert and scheduled installation three days later. Robert was a real craftsman and did a great job. All in all, a pleasant, efficient, transaction that resulted in a great product so skillfully installed in my home. An easy 5* rating for Amigo's.

 

Taylor G. Los Angeles, Ca.

7/25/2012

I got carpet, padding & installation WITHIN 3 HOURS for the same price Home Depot wanted for JUST the carpet and a 7-day wait!

Found this place through Craigslist, needed carpet for a small room. I wasn't looking for anything too particular and almost immediately found a roll that was exactly the color and size I was looking for. Price was about 80% off retail, came in around 70 cents a square foot for nice carpet! The length was about 2 feet longer than I needed so I ended up having to buy a useless 20 sqft but that's to be expected at a leftover store, and it was STILL cheaper overall than anywhere else. Added some very good quality padding and totaled $229. Asked if they had an installer they recommended and Mike hooked me up with Juan who picked all the materials up for me and arrived at my house an hour later (wearing a Home Depot installer shirt, he picks up side gigs like this when Home Depot has no clients for him). Less than an hour after that it was done and looks great. There was one very small defect in the carpet and Juan was careful to make sure it was as close to a back corner as possible, it doesn't bother me at all and is barely visible.

DOWNSIDES (none of which I experienced):
**People, its a leftover store, it would be ridiculous to expect a perfect shopping experience at the discounts they offer**
- what you see is what you get. Don't expect to come back for more of the same carpet you bought before. **Again, its a leftover store.**

OVERALL:
- I highly recommend Amigo's if you're looking to do rooms in different carpets, there's a much smaller selection of carpets they have in big quantities if you want uniformity.
- I recommend having them unroll the carpet before you buy it, check for any defects if you want to be safe.
-  Mike is a retired carpet installer and knows a ton of working installers that have lots of experience, ask for recommendations if you need one.

 

Sha N. Los Angeles, Ca.

11/28/2012

Amigo's is my new best store ever!  I went in looking for a high quality commercial grade carpet for my guesthouse, which gets high traffic - and found exactly what I was looking for - so thrilled!  AND they were able to have their carpet man, Robert Templeton,  come the very next day and install it.  Who, by the way did a masterful job!  I'll be checking back in there for another room I am looking to carpet, but am waiting on a very high grade carpeting.  So, I'll just keep checking back.  Mike was great too.  A neighbor recommended them to me, and she's an interior designer.  Cannot say enough.

 

Pamela M. Woodland Hills, Ca.

4/28/2012

If you want fancy decorator's advise and racks of carpet sample books... go somewhere else. If you want great affordable flooring go see Mike! Mike the owner of Amigo spent lots of time asking great questions about what WE needed from our carpeting and educating us on the options he had avaliable. The inventory is endlot, closeouts so you can't just order from a book. You will also need to do your own measurements but if you're not afraid to use your 6th-grade math you can save yourself a ton of money! I found exactly the carpet that I wanted and saved over $2,000 over every carpet store bids. Robert and Will came to do the installation.. they were super nice and did an amazing job! They moved all the funiture, vacuumed and put everything back perfectly. Our place looks amazing! 5 STARS! Harold and Pam

 

Tim A. Los Angeles, Ca.

7/8/2011

This is a new warehouse with TONS of choices. My wife and I are building an new house and we really looked around and found this place to be the cheapest. I was kind of scared reading some of the reviews but then I found out that the store is now under new owner ship and the owner owns only the North hollywood branch. Amigos do not offer an installation service, they do have the list at the store of different installers but those are independent contractors that have nothing to do with amigos. I chose one of the installers (Ernesto) and was very happy with the job they did. We ended up picking real wood for our house for far cheaper than the other places we looked at. The owner and staff were very nice and really tried to help us out (maybe its my wife's charm?  jk!) I would definitely recommend amigos, its cheap and the quality is just great! Check this place out!

 

Michelle B. Santa Clarita, Ca.

1/11/2008

We're planning on going back to Amigo's to finish up a long term home improvement project (lol)...I was looking for a Phone # to call for their hours when I came across many reviews of all the different locations in our area.  I can't believe some people who had such bad experiences!! We were the customers from hell, but they were GREAT to us ANYWAY!!   It all started 2 years ago when we saw an ad with unreal prices for wood flooring, so we went to Amigo's to check it out.  The ad stated flooring "starting at $2.99 sf."  A saleslady came out onto the floor (monsterously huge floor!) and showed us the $2.99 stuff--it was like pergo but cheaper; but not too bad since our budget was so tight.  The more we looked, the more we liked!  We went back and forth, back and forth with that poor sales lady!!  I couldn't believe her patience!  We finally told her to go help some other customers while we mulled it over more. We finally decided spend a little more on some solid wood plank that was really good for the money, on sale for $4.50 sf!! We bought what we needed and planned on picking it up the next weekend with our truck.  During the week, I researched all about wood flooring (lol, yeah, after the fact)  and decided maybe solid plank wasn't such a good idea, since we live in the desert and have an evaporative cooler.  Evaporative coolers add moisture to the air which then can cause wood to warp.  So we went to Amigo's armed with my newfound knowledge and instead of picking up the flooring we'd already BOUGHT, we told the same salelady to help us out with another selection.  Contrary to what I've heard, we had NO problem at all exchanging the flooring, by the way. We chose Kahrs engineered hand distressed oak planks.  It is imported from Sweden and part of Kahr's President's Collection.  Kahrs wood planks from the presidents collection ran about $12.99sf-$15.99 everywhere else, but we got it at Amigo's for only $5.99sf  on sale!  How about that?!   Because the Kehrs wood was more expensive, they let us pay the difference in 2 weeks when we would have more $$.  They even extended it and held our order for a total of 4 weeks because we overspent on Christmas!!  Needless to say, Amigo's was EXTREMELY accomodating in every way!  My husband installed it himself, using the underlayment sold at Amigo's, and some Kahr's glue (we wanted to glue the tongue and grooves) we bought in Orange County.  
So, now it's 2 years later, and we still love the Kahr's wood floor.  We have 6 dogs and 3 college kids still living with us, plus all their gangs of friends coming and going.  Then there's my and mydaughter's dirty boots coming into the doorway from the ranch we board our horses at!   It has held up wonderfully and looks fantastic.  We've been hard on it, but it is holding up great.  It was good advice Amigos gave us to get hand distressed oak!!!  I use murpheys oil soap and water with a "Vileda" mop.  That mop works perfectly for the hand distressed surface and is hands-free wringing.  It's made of microfiber so it's gentle on the finish. The mop comes with it's own special bucket, and the kit can be had at Walmart for under $20. We are going to Amigo's tomorrow to get flooring for my daughter's and our bedrooms!  At least this time, we know where to go and what to get!  Hope sharing our experience helped some.

 

David G. North Hills, Ca.

10/2/2006

First to Review

What no reviews for AMIGOS????  That's insane!  So here goes.  They're CHEAP and the quality is GREAT!

We went all over looking for good quality flooring (wood for the kitchen).  Everywhere we went we were more and more convinced that we couldn't afford real wood and would have to get Pergo...blah.

But then we found AMIGOS.  We were able to find the most beautiful pecan REAL hardwood floors for LESS than we would have paid for Pergo.  That's right people LESS than what Pergo costs.  And it was REAL WOOD - can you say RESALE VALUE???

We bought all the floor and glue for our kitchen and I installed it myself (and yes, my wife helped).  Our kitchen isn't that big, but we did it all for $600.  I had an estimate from a "professional" and he wanted almost $2,500 for real wood.  

So, 3 years later... how's the wood holding up?  Well I have 2 kids, a wife, and a sister in law living with me, and the floor still looks great.  We drop pots, books, spoons, and everything else but the kitchen sink... har har... and the floor still looks great.

Now keep in mind we did get Anderson wood, which from what I understand, is very good quality.  So Amigos has nothing to do with how good the floors are... but they do sell high quality stuff as well as the cheap stuff.

If you need floors, go here FIRST.  You'll be back after you shop around all over town.

Or just buy from here, and save yourself the trouble.



A few letters from customers:
 
 
Mike,
 
"Both Carol and I want to thank you so much for your help in getting us the right carpet. Your expertise and professionalism made the difference.  The installer you recommended, Juan, is the best in his trade. By the way, I gave Juan an extra hundred for Christmas. Once again, thank you".
 
Bob and Carol, West Hills California
 
 
 
 
"Thanks Mike for coming out to our home and taking a look at the yellow spot on our new Berber carpet and explaining to us how to easily maintain our investment".
 
Nelson and Diana, Tarzana California
 
 

February, 16, 2011

"Hi Mike,

Wanted to let you know that Juan Delgado (he was terrific) just left and we are very pleased with the carpet you sold us.  It looks great and quite high end!  The entire piece was in perfect condition. 

We had just enough feet and Juan was able to patch the ends of the room pretty darn perfectly.  I was pleased that we saved money, probably 33%, on product and had so little unnecessary waste left for landfill – hoping recycled (J). 

Thank you for taking the time to educate me and helping us out. 

Sincerely, Cathy & Dennis G., Palos Verdes"

 

February 21, 2011

 Hi Mike,


Juan came today and installed the carpet for us. It's looks fabulous and we are very pleased.

He measured the upstairs bedrooms and stairs and said we need 670 sq feet. If you can find that carpet we saw with the zigzag pattern in the color... we will buy it!
We really liked it a lot!


Thanks so much,


Stacie & Bill Olsen Canyon Country

 

Thank you for taking the time to read this

Mike, Amigo's

 


WHERE TO SHOP
 
One of the Best Places to Purchase Discount carpet, Carpet Remnants, Hardwood Flooring, Laminate Flooring and much more in the San Fernando Valley of Los Angeles:
 
 
WHO
The original AMIGO'S Carpet & Flooring Warehouse

WHAT
100's of Carpet Remnants, Rolls in stock, available for immediate installation, Hardwood Flooring, Laminate Flooring and more.
 
WHERE
Amigo's Carpet
13406 Saticoy ST (Take Woodman to Saticoy St. Go East, 2 blocks on right.)
North Hollywood, Ca 91605
Mike 818-901-7411
 
WHEN
Mon-Thurs 9am to 5pm
Fri-Sat 9am to 4pm
Sunday 11am to 4pm 
 
WHY
FIRST in QUALITY, PRICE and SERVICE. 70,000 satisfied customers and you will be one of them.